Jefferson Township Will join the Morris Area Energy Cooperative (MAEC), a government energy aggregation (GEA) that offers power supply rate reduction and consumer protections that citizens cannot obtain on their own.

By joining a GEA, the municipality combines the usage of all residents, commercial, and governmental properties to receive a lower energy supply price than what the local distribution company currently charges. Many townships in our area are currently enrolled in this great program in order to bring electricity rate savings to residents. This program will begin in Jefferson in March 2021. Residents can choose to opt out without a fee at any time.

  • The Township’s opt out period will run from January 1, 2021 – January 31, 2021.
  • IDT will enroll all residents that did not elect to initially Opt Out during the month of February 2021.
  • The Townships program will begin with IDT in March 2021.

Residents are invited to an informational meeting via Zoom at 6 p.m. on Wednesday, January 13 hosted by NJ AGG. To participate in the Zoom meeting, please visit the following link:

Residents can call energy consultants at 866-688-5197 with your questions.

Never miss a headline!

Sign up to have The Jefferson Chronicle emails/breaking alerts and Print Edition sent free to your inbox. Subscribe >>