The Jefferson Township High School swim team concluded its 2016/2017 season. Led by girls' captains Halle Music, Katelyn Shaw, and Morgan Carline, along with boys' captains Matt Xenitelis, Jake Sobieski, and Anthony Kahwaty, the team was able to cap off a successful and enjoyable season. Head coach Rachel Koenig along with assistant Ccach Christina Breznak provided the guidance and leadership to the 53 total swimmers on this season's team.

Several members represented the team at the County Championship Meet. Some of the swimmers were recently named to the All North Jersey Athletic Conference - Northern Division teams, as selected by the league coaches. Those swimmers selected to either the First Team, Second Team, or Honorable Mention classification were:

First Team Selection:
400 Freestyle Relay Team: Kevin Cahill, Ani Bahl, Anthony Kahwaty, and Matt Xenitelis

Second Team Selection:
100 Freestyle: Kevin Cahill
100 Backstroke: Matt Xenitelis
200 Individual Medley: Samantha Iversen
400 Freestyle Relay Team: Samantha Iversen, Lea Mazzacano, Halle Music, and Amy Segond

Honorable Mention Selection:
Timothy DenBleyker
Morgan Carline

The team's awards banquet took place on February 16 at Casa Bianca in Oak Ridge, where the team celebrated individual and team accomplishments throughout the season. The event also recognized the outgoing seniors for their years of dedication to the team. They are:

Halle Music - 4 Year Swimmer
Katelyn Shaw - 4 Year Swimmer
Morgan Carline - 4 Year Swimmer
Rachel Dworak - 4 Year Swimmer
Matt Xenitelis - 4 Year Swimmer
Kevin Cahill - 4 Year Swimmer
Jake Sobieski - 4 Year Swimmer
Anthony Kahwaty - 4 Year Swimmer
Corey Helmstetter - 4 Year Swimmer
Sarah Young - 3 Year Swimmer
Jennifer Krakowski - 3 Year Swimmerr
Chris Naiman - 1 Year Swimmer

During the awards ceremony Amy Segond was named the Most Valuable Swimmer for the girls and Anthony Kahway named Most Valuable Swimmer for the boys.

More photos:
Click or tap photos to enlarge and show captions.