Matt Millar was chosen by his colleagues to serve as president of the Jefferson Township Board of Education at the annual organizational meeting on January 7. Millar is filling the position formerly held by longtime board member Jill Van Ness. Stacey Poulas was voted vice president.

In addition, Christopher Natale and Lary Wasserman were sworn in to their first terms following election in November. Amy Gould, who had been re-elected to the board, also took the oath of office. The Code of Ethics for School Board Members was read aloud.

Christopher Natale is sworn in as a new member of the Board of Education. (Photo: Tyler Delp)
Lary Wasserman is sworn in as a new member of the Board of Education. (Photo: Tyler Delp)
Amy Gould is sworn in following her reelection to the Board of Education. (Photo: Tyler Delp)

Fourteen motions were approved. They related to meeting dates, various professional services appointments, designation of banks as official depositories, designation of the Daily Record as the board’s official newspaper, adoption of the existing pre-kindergarten through grade 12 curriculum, and continuation of the current board bylaws and policies.

Other business included the appointment of board member Michael Stewart as delegate to the New Jersey School Boards Association and the Morris County School Boards Association. Amy Gould was appointed delegate to the Morris County Educational Services Commission.

Following adjournment of the half-hour organizational meeting, Millar immediately called to order a special meeting. Various personnel matters were approved. No action was taken on the proposed ratification of a collective bargaining agreement.

The next meeting of the Board of Education is scheduled for Monday, January 21, in the high school media center (1010 Weldon Road). The public portion of the meeting will begin at 7:30 p.m.

Never miss a headline!

Sign up to have The Jefferson Chronicle emails/breaking alerts and Print Edition sent free to your inbox. Subscribe >>